I backported the latest version of PCSX2, the PS2 emulator, to Windows XP

blueclouds8666

Hello Windows XP gaming community. I have what i believe are good news for you, if you are into emulation.

I'm a developer and i've recently modified the latest version of the popular PCSX2 PlayStation 2 emulator to make it run again under the Windows XP operating system, since they removed that compatibility by 2016. The development to my modified version of PCSX2 started in May 2020, just when the latest stable official release was made public (v1.6.0), confirming it wasn't indeed compatible with XP. I wanted to do something about it, so i started peeking the code and considering the options i had. Well, after months of testing and patience, i got the latest v1.6.0 stable release from May 2020 running perfectly fine under XP. This project is called "PCSX2 XP" and is been made available from my website:
http://neonfloppy.sytes.net/projects/pcsx2-xp/

and there is also a github repository:
https://github.com/blueclouds8666/pcsx2_XP

You may also join to my discord server, where you can find about my other projects and chat with other xp fans:
https://discord.gg/KXKXcs4

I will be answering any questions you have regarding my project down below.
I hope you all find this useful.
Thanks for your attention.

screenshot.jpg

Edited by blueclouds8666

On 10/14/2020 at 1:47 AM, RainyShadow said:

Too bad that it requires SSE2.

I have some 0.9.x builds that complain about it, but still manage to run somehow. Yours straight crashes at launch.

Would it even run at a playable speed on such hardware, though? You're looking at a pre-2004 CPU here pretty much, I might be wrong when paired with a good graphics card but I imagine more recent versions of PCSX2 are more accurate - thus requiring more powerful hardware to run the same content? I might be wrong, I've seldom if ever used it (though have heard negative opinions about its codebase, lol).