Vista Ultimate - What services to kill safely?

whwebsolutions

I'm a working PC tech, and as such I have to set up new Vista PC's every week.

I know from years of experience with XP, that redundant services can kill a system's performance.

So after installing Vista Ult. on a test PC, I went straight to Black Vipers web site to find out what Services I could safely KILL. He gives several options that you can pick from.

I went with the services in the SAFE column. Then I wrote a batch file to disable 22 services. I run that batch file now on every home PC I set up that runs Vista.

For my own PC, I added two more services to that list, for a total of 24 services to either KILL or put into Manual mode.

Regardless of what the 'Nay-Sayers' may want to tell you, reducing the workload on the CPU and ram cannot help but positively impact system performance.

I also use a few Registry Tweaks, holdovers from XP, that improve Vista's performance even more.

Also, putting every screen or menu into "Classic" mode helps too.

Then to decrease your frustration level, shut down UAC! It has NO place on a home computer.

Then help the poor overloaded HD, by uninstalling every trial and demo that came with the PC.

And any other program that you don't need.

There's more, but that's a good place to start, anyway. :thumbup

Cheers Mates!

B)

Edited by Andromeda43

I went with the services in the SAFE column. Then I wrote a batch file to disable 22 services. I run that batch file now on every home PC I set up that runs Vista.

For my own PC, I added two more services to that list, for a total of 24 services to either KILL or put into Manual mode.

Do you happen to have a link or could you post some code for this batch file you run? Is it something you run every time it boots up or is it a 1 time deal to put the services into a "manual" mode?

shut down UAC! It has NO place on a home computer.