Good starting point for WMI programming?

I am working on a project that I want to be able to read and use info from the WMI. I have gotten some info from TechNet and MSDN but it seems to make my head spin. I am also not sure what interface I will use to write the code. It will either be VBScript (with an HTA) or AutoIT or Flash Projector.

So can anyone post me some good WMI guides and tutorials and code examples and such?

I'd have to say the WMICodeCreator and the MSDN class articles are probably the best way to go. Regardless of vbscript or autoit (although PowerShell is out there too), learning WMI via vbscript+WMICC+MSDN is probably the most straightforward way. WMI is pretty easy if you already know the framework around it (vbscript, AutoIT, PS, .NET, etc) - it's just a structured query language, basically.

I'm no programmer like these studs but I've learned a bit about WMI by using Samurize and editing config files. It has a WMI interface that I like to tinker with. Nothing serious, but why can't you have some fun while you're at it? :)

Doing this in conjunction with AHK.

Here is a little code that will show you how to convert the WMI OS Install Date and OS Last Boot Date, to a more readable format.

Dim Tme :Set Tme = CreateObject("WbemScripting.SWbemDateTime")
Dim Wmi :Set Wmi = GetObject("winmgmts:{impersonationLevel=impersonate}!\\.\root\CIMV2")

Dim Obj
Dim BDate, IDate
For Each Obj In Wmi.ExecQuery("SELECT * FROM Win32_OperatingSystem")
Tme.Value = Obj.LastBootUpTime
BDate = Left(MonthName(Tme.Month),3) & ", " & Left(WeekdayName(Weekday(Tme.GetVarDate)),3) & vbTab & Tme.GetVarDate
Tme.Value = Obj.InstallDate
IDate = Left(MonthName(Tme.Month),3) & ", " & Left(WeekdayName(Weekday(Tme.GetVarDate)),3) & vbTab & Tme.GetVarDate
Next
MsgBox _
"Installed Date" & vbTab & IDate & vbCrLf & _
"Last Boot Date" & vbTab & BDate,4128,"Wmi Time Demo"

Okay I got something reasonably working now from some examples, except for a few points: