Advice on mobo/build

clonesauce

Hi! This march I'm gonna build a new rig, since the one I'm using now is a 7-year-old rig (^^;) This is my first time building a computer, and I think I'm gonna need a lot of advice...any will do =)

I'm confused if I should buy an SLI mobo or not...since I'm only going to use one video card.

This is my current list(the parts that I'm going to consider most):

AMD Athlon64 X2 4600+

GeForce 7600GT

Corsair TWIN2X2048-6400 (2x1GB sticks)

Antec NeoHE 500/550

Motherboard = ?

I've picked a M2N32-SLI mobo but not really sure 'cause I might just waste money on it's extra features for using only one card... Any advice on what motherboard I should choose? Thanks =)

Edited by clonesauce

Most probably...1200-1500 USD or less, haven't really calculated all that yet but that's about the rough estimation. =)

But for the main parts (like the parts above) it's around $1000 below.

*Changed budget, converted it wrongly =)

Edited by clonesauce

Yeah, well, the 6100/6150 (430-410) chipsets are my favorite...

But, I would like to ask what you are going to do with your new computer?

What programs are you going to run?

Any gaming? And if yes, we would like to know what games.

Some future plans?

Give us some more onfo on that please...

Thanks nitro =) That mobo would do well and is 500HKD cheaper.

@punto

I'll be using the computer for general, but more accented on gaming. Moderate Photoshop/AutoCAD use.

Games won't really be that heavy(mostly online games).

Should I buy a new HDD? I have a 160GB HDD (IDE/PATA) already but wondering if I should buy a SATA drive.

Edited by clonesauce

@ Ripken,

Nice setup indeed, nothing wrong with it.

@ clonesauce,