IE7 and Microsoft Update Not installing

DolphinSafe

Hi all,

This is my first post here. I want to start by saying thank you to TommyP and Tomcat76 for a great tool.

I'm relatively new to HFSLIP, and I'm having two problems (that I know of) with putting together an up-to-date XP Pro SP2 disc. Everything seems to go fine (no errors show up), but after booting (and rebooting) I notice:

• Microsoft Update isn't installed
  • IE7 isn't installed

I've read the basic how-to, and "Important things" and I've followed all appropriate instructions as far as I know. In "Important things" I notice mention of a plain simple interface prior to first reboot. I don't see that. The first time it boots up, it looks completely normal.

I've searched the forums, but didn't find anything that seemed to be quite what I've got going on here. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Attached are my HFSLIP.LOG (renamed with .TXT appended - can't upload .LOG FILES) and WU1.TXT.

Thanks in advance!

HFSLIP.LOG.TXT

WU1.TXT

Well...

First of all, slipstreaming muweb.cab allows you to access the Microsoft Update site without being asked to download an ActiveX control. But the package is not responsible for the shortcuts to Microsoft Update; those are created by a different mechanism. The shortcuts are automatically created upon first access to the Microsoft Update site.

One thing I keep forgetting to add to the "Important things to know" page is that Windows needs to be activated before IE7 can be installed. This needs to be done during the Post-Install Wizard.

First of all, slipstreaming muweb.cab allows you to access the Microsoft Update site without being asked to download an ActiveX control. But the package is not responsible for the shortcuts to Microsoft Update; those are created by a different mechanism. The shortcuts are automatically created upon first access to the Microsoft Update site.

Thanks for that information. I'll look at this to see what's actually happening.