[Advice] New Server for Business

averagecdn

A friend has come to me and asked me to build him a new server. Unfortunantely I have little to no experience in dealing with servers and understanding the different chipsets that are available and what they do and don't support.

I will list the hardware I currently have and if someone can recommened a board its greatly appreciated

4x 10k WD 74GB Raptor Hard Drives

1 Dual Head Intel GB Network Adapter

Windows Server 2003

Leadtek Video Card (not sure of the specifics)

CD Rom

I am looking for a new board that has a Hardware RAID solution with RAID 5. I am currently running Raid 0+1. I would like a board that is ATX and something that has onboard video. The big thing is the RAID 5 support. Above anything else the RAID is a must.

Any help is appreciated...

I saw that post however that posting does nothing to address any of the hardware requirements I am looking at. I am not interested in putting a bunch of add on cards into a machine to achieve my desired outcome. I believe addon cards = more problems. The real recommendation I am looking for is motherboards. Workstation/Server/ Desktop computer class I don't care its just gotta have Raid 5.

You'll be hard pressed to find a motherboard with good built-in RAID5. And if you do it'll be nothing more than a PCI/PCI-X/PCIe card integrated into the motherboard. Servers are something I do for a living and you'll find that most of them use add-in cards for everything.

The reason for using add-in cards is quick replacement in case of failure. If it's integrated into the motherboard you have to replace the entire motherboard...which means disconnecting everything, pulling the CPUs off, RAM off, etc, etc. That means more downtime.

I assume your plan is to use all four Raptors in RAID5 and partition that for OS and data?

Edited by nmX.Memnoch

What's the server going to be used for and how many users will be concurrently using it?