nLite Backup Feature Query

src2206

Hello

Thank you for developing nLite. :thumbup

I am complete noob in Data Backup scene, soI would grateful if you could answer my following doubts.

Background:

I am going to sell my old PC and going to buy a new one. The old one has a 40GB HDD as Primary HDD containing my OS and most of the useful programs.

My Question

I have done a lot of customization of those programs so I am really afraid to reinstall and recustomize all.....it is going to hell of a time which unfortunately I do not have.

I intend to take a complete backup of the 40GB drive and restore it back in the new PC's 160GB SATA drive.

Could some one please tell me :

1. Whether it is possible with nLite

2. If yes, then how can I do it.

3. Will I be able to perform Repair Install and Recovery of Windows using Recovery Console using the resultant slipstream CD?

I have gone through the guide at the nLite's website.

Please help.

Thank you.

Edited by src2206

Besides the need for an IMAGING program, like Acronis True Image, GHOST, or similar Commercial or Freeware programs like those listed here:

http://www.911cd.net/forums//index.php?sho...c=16534&hl=

NOT a backup one,

and definitely NOT nlite, which is an "install tweaking" program,

what you want to do is NOT as straightforward as you might believe.

Divided in steps, you are going to:

1) Image one drive to another one, and boot from the new hard disk on the SAME machine

2) Transfer the new hard disk to ANOTHER machine and boot from it

WARNING:

Depending on current licence you have, what you plan to do might prove to be NOT legal and will however need to re-activate XP.

Read here how the TWO procedures might be carried on:

http://www.michaelstevenstech.com/moving_xp.html

And how it is possible in case of problems repair a XP install:

http://www.michaelstevenstech.com/XPrepairinstall.htm