wmp 9/windizupdate problem

ZenMystic

am I complete noob so I hope this is the place to post. Sorry if its not no offense ment.

I slipstreamed windows 2000 without ei for the first time today and all went well appart from 2 problems

1... Windows media Play 9 will not run I box comes up saying "an internal application error occoured" what ever that means...

2... when I try to use the windizupdate it download and and installs updates (or so it says) then after install is complete if crashes out firefox am running version 1.0.7.. I looked no update were done from what I see

if anyone can help me with these 2 problems....

Appart from that all seems to have gone well

TY for your time

Hallo ZenMystic and all other,

in tommyp's latest HFSLIP_51109.CMD is a little error. I yesterday informed tommyp about it.

In line 1780 : ECHO >>WORK\HFSLIPHF.INF - is an error!!

It should be:

line 1780 : ECHO. >>WORK\HFSLIPHF.INF

This failing point produces later in the slipstreaming-process a defect file "HFSLIPWU.INF".

During Windiz-installation occours NO ERRORS (windiz ignores the defect file worthless) but the installation is for... (we say in Germany "...for the as" / "...für den Arsch" :) ). Many entries failing after installation in the registry!!

What can you do...

1. Edit the line 1780 in "HFSLIP_51109.CMD" (see above). Then save the file and start slipstreaming again...

This line is in the middle of call ":DX9C"

or

2. - AFTER slipstreaming AND BEFORE making *.iso search the file "HFSLIPWU.INF" (in folder "HFSLIP\SOURCESS\I386").

- Open and edit this file with "Notepad.exe" and delete the LAST!!! line (ECHO.....).

- Then save the file an make your *.iso.

I hope, I could help you.

(sorry, for my bad english - I'm from Germany)

Best regards

Willi.

wilkol: Thank You for telling my that about windizupdate....