nLite noob here

Molecule

nLite is a Beautiful product!

A tiny observation, and a product marketing suggestion, no insult intended

The focus started with bypassing MS strongarming us with IE. That was good.

But now, is there too much carry-over focus on just "getting smaller."

(It's almost like .... I can name that tune in one note kind of thing.)

As a noob, I'm of course interested in dropping annoying bubblegum and etc.

But my main focus on using nLite is what I know least about, which is system security.

As an aside, to me security comes by building the system correctly. I don't consider firewall or antivirus software to be security, and I have NEVER used them. I would have to be a fool to believe the NSA, Pentagon, Microsoft, Google, et al, engineers couldn't blow right through a homeowner maintained firewall and AV. If the price was right, a FW and AV builders might even open a back door just for them.

It could mean a major refocus of nLite objectives, but it would be nice to have a tab-page or something, which would help a noob like me set up strong stable system as best as I can, where focus is on security, for laptop, desktop, media center, etc.

Or maybe create a new page where nLite could review the preset selections, and make an analysis of security strengths and weaknesses. Maybe feed it a hardware list for the target computer on the system. I don't build regularly, so I have to go back and google what is PCMCIA and do I have it, etc every time.

Edited by Molecule

few more adjustments

If ... if  ... if any. That surely excludes major additions like the OP's suggestions.+ "marketing suggestions" ??? nlite is free and its market (and its forum) is pretty dead. :angel

maybe leave nLite as-is but include a zip of security presets for desktop and laptop noobs

prepared by people who understand how to strip a 2K, XP, 03 system down but leave it running for the standard laptop or desktop user