Stand alone firmware utility?

Does one even exist?

I see a lot of flashing utilities that contain the new firmware for XXX drive but not just a stand alone reading/saving/writing utility anywhere.

Heres my issue...

I work in the arcade coin operated industry. As I'm sure some of you are aware a lot of newer games use computers or computer hardware in them. About 90% of said games are easily serviced by us in the field. There are a few holdouts though... Konami's DDR Super Nova is one of them. It uses a Play Station 2 with a hard drive (40 gig Maxtor) as its CPU. When the drive fails I have to pay almost $1000.00 to get a replacement. I'm CONVINCED that the software is tied to a particular modified firmware on the hard drives because all efforts to copy the drive or burn the software to a new drive has failed. I have a working DDR Super Nova and 2 identical Maxtors that I want to experiment with.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Matt

Konami's DDR Super Nova is one of them. It uses a Play Station 2 with a hard drive (40 gig Maxtor) as its CPU. When the drive fails I have to pay almost $1000.00 to get a replacement. I'm CONVINCED that the software is tied to a particular modified firmware on the hard drives because all efforts to copy the drive or burn the software to a new drive has failed. I have a working DDR Super Nova and 2 identical Maxtors that I want to experiment with.

Hmmm. :unsure:

WHICH EXACT "copy the drive efforts" have been tested?

WHICH EXACT Maxtor model are they?

Please be aware that you (actually we, now :w00t: ) may be walking on a very fine line :ph34r: , as this could result in the provisions of Rule #1.a:

http://www.msfn.org/board/index.php?app=forums&module=extras&section=boardrules

jaclaz

EXTREMELY fine line...

Doubting that said "game" is anything BUT a single game "installed" on the HDD.

Google

clone ps2 hard drive

http://psx-scene.com/forums/f98/how-clone-ps2-hard-drive-23908/