Using Net Use Command in WinPE

crowe80

I'm fairly new to learning how to image Windows 7 images using WinPE. I work at a business where we are currently on XP and I use a combination of Ghost and UIU to create our images. We will soon be going to Windows 7 and I'm learning how to save images out on a share so anyone in our IT department can go out and grab an image depending on what device they are imaging. I have created my WinPE boot disc and I have the image ready to copy over to my share but when I use the net use \\computer name\folder it keeps saying the network location cannot be found. I'm unable to ping the pc from WinPE as well. Here is my setup. I just have a desktop PC with Windows XP that has an external hard drive hooked to and it's shared out and called "images". This is where my current XP images are as well so I know it's shared out because everyone can get to those fine using Ghost. So anyways, I have the XP PC with external hard drive shared out and named images. Now I have another PC that I want to install Windows 7 on and the .wim file is already saved on the external hard drive of the XP machine. But like I said, when I use the net use command it's not finding the PC on the network. The firewall is off on the XP machine and I can ping it from any other computer on our network. Is there something I need to configure within WinPE to get it to see the XP machine on my network? Using the net use command and IP address of the XP machine does not work either. Seems like I'm missing a step to get the WinPE disc to see computers on my network. Any help would be appreciated!!!

Have you installed the LAN driver into WinPE for your network card? I haven't seen a WinPE yet that has one automatically included that is compatible with all LAN cards.

Cheers and Regards