spam software for exchange 2003

AO3

Does anyone have antispam produtes for exchange 2003. I need to see what is out there. But I wanted to get some insight from you all about what works, good, bad, etc... I have used Ninja "I hate Spam" by Sunbelt, and ORF by Vamsoft. Clients are using outllok 2003, OWA, and blackberries.

I have a lot of experience with GFI mail essentials and a little experience with Sophos Puremessage. Both are good but im biased towards GFI. Howver that being said it really does work! The Bayesian filter learns from inbound and outbound mail whats ham and whats spam and eventually only junk ends up in your junk mail folder (outlook 2k3 and above) and only good stuff ends up in your inbox.

Anyway GFI gets my vote :)

Hmmm we don't use server side anti-span protection here... we've got some hardware device that acts as a mail-filter/mail-exchanger before the messages get delivered to the exchange server.

Could you share with us what the hardware devices are?

Secure Computing's IronMail email gateway and Barracuda's SpamFirewall are two I'm familiar with (although I've only seen the IronMail product in use, not the SpamFirewall). The barracuda product isn't expensive, but IronMail is definitely priced for larger companies.

Note that the Barracuda product is basically running an MTA + commercial email filtering software, and can be replicated to a great degree with Sendmail(or insert your favorite MTA here)+spamassassin+mimedefang+clamav. Howwever, the Barracuda has a nice web front-end that's definitely easier than the Linux CLI or webmin :). If you've got the dough, the IronMail product is really incredibly effective too, honestly.

Secure Computing's IronMail email gateway and Barracuda's SpamFirewall are two I'm familiar with (although I've only seen the IronMail product in use, not the SpamFirewall). The barracuda product isn't expensive, but IronMail is definitely priced for larger companies.