[PHP] String Manipulation

Hello, been lookin all over the net on how to do this... but can't find out how..

I want to be able to parse out only 2 parts of a string that i'm retrieving from the user.. *This is needed in PHP incase you didn't see the title* :P

take this for example...

apples=1&Bananas=5&Carrots=3421&Pears=7&Watermelons=10

now.. the data i want to parse out is Carrots and Pears... discarding the rest of the data.. and i want them to be assigned to 2 variables automatically, $Carrots and $Pears which i can then echo.. I'm a newb when it comes to PHP so bear with me =P

oh.. and have $carrots = '3421' not.. $carrots = 'Carrots=3241' etc..

*EDIT*

ok, since were on the topic of string manipulation.. and i don't want to have 2 topics going.. how would i be able to check if carrots is greater then 1000 then display something else..

example..

if $carrots > '1001' then

$carrots = 'Over 1,000 Carrots'

thanks again :D

Edited by Bi0haZarD

I don't think this is exactly what you need, but it might be usefull.

Fruit.php

<?php
if(isset($_GET['pears']) && is_numeric($_GET['pears']))
{
echo "Number of pears = ".$_GET['pears']."<br />";
}
if(isset($_GET['carrots']) && is_numeric($_GET['carrots']))
{
echo "Number of carrots = ".$_GET['carrots']."<br />";
}
else
{
echo "Error: id is incorrectly or does not excist";
}
echo $_GET['pears'] + $_GET['carrots']." pieces of vegetables and fruit";

?>

The last echo outputs the total numbers of the two strings.

Usage:

fruit.php?pears=(number)&carrots=(number)

(number)= a numberical value, the error is displayed when a non-numberical value is supplied.

Hope this helps ;)

no sorry doesn't help, where i'm getting this string is from the $_SERVER predefined variable, seen here http://us2.php.net/reserved.variables

but i get a bunch of data that i don't need in 1 string/variable.

I guess i should be lookin more towards string trimming and trim the data out of there.. which i hate doing lol.