New NVidia Forceware 77.72 official drivers

Everybody who uses an NVidia video card should install this.

Hi MDGx, really? I have read many times that new drivers are optimized for new video cards only and give worse results with older video cards and version like 45.32 are recommended. I never tried to investigate this topic in detail.

Petr

Everybody who uses an NVidia video card should install this.

Hi MDGx, really? I have read many times that new drivers are optimized for new video cards only and give worse results with older video cards and version like 45.32 are recommended. I never tried to investigate this topic in detail.

Petr

As far as I know [and I've been using various NVidia video cards for over 7 years] each new drivers do improve on newer video chipsets [GPUs as NVidia likes to call them] by debugging, adding, improving etc hardware supported functions, but at the same time all older GPUs that particular driver applies to are also 100% supported, and even further debugged/improved if enough bug reports are received from users.

To see exactly the entire list of supported GPUs, please open NVAGP.INF [or NVAML.INF depending on xx.xx Detonator/Forceware driver release, with various international/multilanguage versions having different INF names] in Notepad and scroll down to the [strings] section.

Or view README.TXT after unzipping the files.

Or go to this page:

http://www.nvidia.com/object/77.72_9x_supported.html

This is the page with all NVidia officially supported drivers for Windows 9x/ME:

http://www.nvidia.com/object/win9x_archive.html

As you well know, NV drivers are all built using their "Unified Driver Architecture" (UDA) technology [ http://www.nvidia.com/object/feature_uda.html ], which means each driver release supports a huge list of GPUs, even several years old ones.