No video with WinPE 4 on EFI boot

Tripredacus

A strange behaviour that I can't seem to figure out how to fix. On multiple hardware (Clevo, Intel) when I do a PXE Boot via UEFI, after the PE loads the screen goes black. If I boot to the same image using a BIOS-based PXE boot, it works fine. The computers are not locked up and the monitor does not go to sleep. I have no video and no mouse cursor either.

Has anyone else done any work with PXE boot to WinPE 4 on UEFI? I am using a 64bit WinPE of course.

UEFI and PE4 x64 booting from USB and from CD is working OK here.

I have no experience with PXE boot ...... but did you try booting from USB or CD ?

Edited by wimb

Its not all hardware, only the ones that change to the "picture in picture" type of boot display. What happens is that both on the notebook (Realtek NIC) and the intel board (Intel NIC) DB75EN, when you choose to do the PXE boot, it uses some different type of display. I'm guessing the PE doesn't support whatever mode this is and the screen ends up going dark. The boot/loading screen does show up. I noticed there were no pics online to explain this, so I had to take some.

Using the boot menu, I can choose IP4 option (and a cool thing is if booting to that fails, you get kicked back to the menu instead of the board trying to boot to the next device)

8268904857_7f0e87462d.jpg

Intel boot menu by Tripredacus, on Flickr

These UEFI PXE ROMs change things where instead of displaying F12 as an option, it says press Enter. This "F12" screen is the first screen showing this different video mode.

8269969862_1c95489656.jpg

UEFI PXE boot F12 screen by Tripredacus, on Flickr

And here you can see what happens after I press Enter.

8268901359_f573289e55.jpg

UEFI PXE boot mini screen by Tripredacus, on Flickr