[DISCONTINUED] XP/2003 features worth adding to USP5.2

tomasz86

This project has been discontinued.

Please check the Unofficial SP 5.2 for Windows 2000 thread for more information.

I'm thinking about "transplanting" a few useful functionalities of XP/2003 to Win2k. Please keep in mind that I'm not a programmer so I haven't got any skills to modify/recompile system files, etc.

At the moment I'm thinking about two things:

- MDAC 2.82 (2.8 SP2) from Win2003

- Volume Shadow Copy (VSS) from XP

I've had just a brief look at them and I think there shouldn't be any serious problems with MDAC. In case of VSS the current XP files have dependency problems... but the older files from XP beta (Whistler) seem to be compatible. I'm also thinking about IIS 6.0 but I've got no idea about the IIS itself and can't test it. If there's anyone interested and willing to be a tester please tell me about it.

In this topic I'd just like to ask all of you for ideas. Are there are any particular features you would like to have?

Edited by tomasz86

• 5 months later...

tomasz86 hello,

I'm not a programmer or anything such, however, I'm following w2k thread because I really appreciate what you're doing. I would just like to let you know that you are doing is really in need. Wish I could help. Thank you very much for doing it!

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion :)

For this particular topic you don't actually need any advanced programming skills. If there are any XP / 2003 features which you think may be useful to have in Win2k then just list them. We'll try to see if it's possible to port them.

I've thought about it but doing so would require VSS (already mentioned in #1) to work... and I can't get it to work (already tried several different versions but no success). The service just doesn't start Win2k.

How much is IIS and its available tools really used outside of a domain / working environment?