Malicious Software Removal Tool required for Windows Update?

Mim0

I'm asking me what the Malicious Software Removal Tool (MSRT) has to do with accessing Windows Update.

Can anybody confirm that this is correct, that MSRT is needed for Windows online-updates? (I've no experience with MS-online-updates.)

Otherwise I would change my list so that MSRT is listed as an optional update.

Regards, Mimo

hi Mim0! afaik, this has nothing to do with windows update for it is basically an anti-virus of sort ... mbsa 2.1 would be more likely to fit the bill as

& it serves as
& i have it in HFSVCPACK_SW1. cheers! ;) Edited by Kiki Burgh

@Mim0

Hi! I'm pretty sure Kiki was reffering to mbsa(msi), when he said that he had it in HFSVCPACK_SW1... (which isn't required for WU either...)

Anyway, nice work on your list! Personally, then i would rather have used the terminology which msft themselves uses for the updates i.e. 'High-priority' and 'Optional' (In the old days it where 'Critical' and 'Recommended'), as you e.g. lists some updates as 'Optional', which are marked on WU as 'High-priority', but it's your decision of course...

CU, Martin.

Why do you have it in HFSVCPACK_SW1?
Hi! I'm pretty sure Kiki was reffering to mbsa(msi), when he said that he had it in HFSVCPACK_SW1... (which isn't required for WU either...)
on the dot on 2 counts Martin H. ;) i only mentioned about mbsa for more or less comparison's sake & a little additional info ... cheers!

@Kiki&Martin

OK, it was MBSA. Thx! :)

...Personally, then i would rather have used the terminology which msft themselves uses for the updates i.e. 'High-priority' and 'Optional' (In the old days it where 'Critical' and 'Recommended'), as you e.g. lists some updates as 'Optional', which are marked on WU as 'High-priority', but it's your decision of course...