Installing XP using Partitions

angel

Hi,

I am getting ready to install XP and would like some advice on using partitions. I have never done this before, but I was reading that it could be a good idea to partition part of your drive (D) and install your data there. That way XP and all the programs could be on one partition ©, Data on partition D and you could create a 3rd partition (Hidden E) to make a copy of C, so that when C is full and corrupted, you just format C and copy your duplicate to C.

Has anyone done this and is this a good idea?

Sharon

If you are not running server its a waste of disk space, and even if you are - get RAID disk system if you'r paranoid about data loss.

For home use, when you are installing XP, format your partition with NTFS file system for better data security and recovery.

depending on size, the reasoning , I just like it that way. Also, with more partitions it gets a bit wacky, I mean going from A-J is ridiculous, especially if your CDROM and/or DVD get all jumbled up in the middle like what happened to me. It suckers arses.

Go with two partitions, one small one rather large, put the OS on the smaller, but leave some room for some things. I tend to put installed programs in the OS partition so leave about 3-4 GIGS there again, depending on your HDD size,

Big Booger

Partition C 5GB, OS/programs etc

Partition D rest, data mp3 etc.

Hidden partitions (copy of C) are a waste of space. If you want to back up C drive then ghost it as an image (can be compressed) to D drive or burn it straight to CDR.

Hi,