my first server

Hey guys

I have an old computer circa windows 95

a pentium I 200 Mhz 128mb RAM a solid 2Megs of video memory

Instead of throwing it out I decided its time to learn about servers.

I installed windows server 2003 on it and would like to run it as a server at my home for internet sharing, file hosting and windows sharepoint.

This is my first attempt with a server but i am fairly knowledgable with computers so this shouldnt be too hard for me.

If anyone could recommend a place to start reading material on how to accomplish what i want done please let me know.

my first goals are to know what plugs into what? meaning i currently have a cable modem connected to my wireless router which connects the 3 computers in my house. how would i make the server act as the dhcp instead of the router and where would i plug the router? into the server or remain with the modem?

How do i create a domain?

Any help would be appreciated

thanks,

Josh

Let’s see how well I do with this. I am sure the people here will correct me if I am wrong. First, on the router turn off DHCP. Everything still plugs in thru the router though. Now on the server go to administrative tools - manage your server. Add a role and make it a DHCP server. That should work to get DHCP from your router onto your server. Are you trying to make a domain and have your machines log on thru your server onto a domain? If so you should setup a role as a domain controller which will put on active directory to create users ect. You can also make it a file server, print server, mail serve, ect. This is all done thru the administrative tools manage your server. Since your box is so slow I would be careful how many roles you give it though. That is a pretty weak box to use as a server regardless of what it is...

Thanks for the info

i find it interesting that everthing including the server still go through the router