Scan Android phone on Windows PC?

I've been using my first smartphone for a few months now, and as my use of it increases I feel an increasing need to protect it with some kind of antivirus/antimalware solution.

At the same time, I would prefer not to register for the Google Store (or whatever they call it), as I have zero confidence that Google will not continue to track me and monitor my travels around the Web, no matter whether I've "signed out" of their store. Thus, the following occurred to me:

Linux to Windows; how about Windows to Linux?

We already have Linux-based live CDs that are used to virus-scan Windows PCs, so could it work in the other direction: might it be possible to scan an Android (Linux) phone from a Windows PC?

Linux to Linux?

Barring that, how about connecting the Android phone to the computer, then booting up an antivirus Linux live CD and scanning the phone with it?

I do know about sideloading Android apps outside of the Google store, but AFAICT you need first to install a file explorer app in order to do that, which requires a visit to the Google store (thus defeating the purpose). What I'd like to focus on here is whether it's possible to scan an Android phone for malware with a Linux or Windows AV application.

Any thoughts? is this a silly/crazy idea?

--JorgeA

Thanks very much, jaclaz

Step 4 of the first link that you kindly provided requires me to

Open your file browser app (my personal favorite is ASTRO [Market Link]) and locate the APK (Android Package) file.

Obviously, I'd rather install a file browser without signing up for the Google store. The F-Droid repository that you also linked to, seems to have a couple of file browsers listed. The most promising-looking one I've seen so far is Ghost Commander.

But I'd still be curious to know the answer to the question that I did ask. ;)

--JorgeA

Update:

I'm facing what we could call a recursive (or question-begging) issue.