New XP pro x64 install can not connect to internet

dispatch88

I just installed XP Professional 64 bit on my desktop. Unfortunately I can not connect to the internet through both wireless and ethernet connection.

I have very little experience working with x64. I installed it to allow me to use all 7 Gb of RAM. I am a student and my major relies on having top notch performance.

I did some research on google but could quite find someone else with my same problem. I went into the Command promt and did ipconfig/all, this is what i received:

Windows IP configuration

Host Name ...................:jarvis

Primary Dns Suffix.........:

Node Type.....................:Broadcast

IP Routing Enabled.........: No

WINS Proxy Enabled.......: No

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific Dns Suffix.....:

description................................: Realtek RTL8185 54M Wireless LAN Network Adapter

Physical Address........................: 00-08-54-93-7A-73

DHCP Enabled...........................: Yes

Autoconfiguration Enabled..........: Yes

IP Address................................: 0.0.0.0

Subnet Mask.............................: 0.0.0.0

Default Gateway........................:

DHCP Server.............................: 255.255.255.255

I dont know much about this, but I know enough to recognize that an IP Address of 0.0.0.0 is not exactly an IP address.

I tried ipconfig /renew but I was given:

An error occured while renewing interface Wireless Network Connection : unable to contact your DHCP server. Request has timed out.

So, what do I do to get my internet?

EDIT* Um, well I just did ipconfig /all again to show my room mate my problem, and now it says:

Host Name ...................:jarvis

Primary Dns Suffix.........:

Node Type.....................:Unknown

IP Routing Enabled.........: No

WINS Proxy Enabled.......: No

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific Dns Suffix.....: