1st custom build... need advice

tvalenti

Im building my first custom computer soon and im looking for advice on how to make it better. I plan to use it as a gaming rig (FSX) as well as an everyday fast computer that i can burn and watch DVD's on. Ive come up with these components so far:

Vista Home Premium

Dual-Core Intel® Core™ 2 Duo E8400 3.00GHz (im waiting for it) :)

WD Raptor X 150GB

ASUS p5k deluxe motherboaard

OC Radeon HD 3870 512MB videocard

Logitech X-230 32 watts RMS 2.1 speakers

OCZ Gold 4GB(2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) RAM

Lian-Li PC7H+ w/ Window (black) Case

Auzen X-Fi Prelude 7.1 Sound

Seasonic 550W High-Efficiency Power Supply

Dell 22" Widescreen Flat-Panel

Samsung DVD burner w/ Lightscribe x1

Asus DVD-ROM drive

The price i have now is around 1700. Is there anyway to save money without sacrificing speed? Also havnt quite figured out a heatsink for the CPU..

Thought id ask the more experienced as this is my first build, does anyone have any suggestions? for anything?

Thanks so much!!!!

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...eezer%2b7%2bpro for a heatsink.

since you're only using 2.1, i'd skip on the sound card, onboard will be good enough.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16827129009 i don't know if it saves money on the asus drive but you haven't shown the site you're getting it from, so i don't know the price :P

and imo, lightscribe does not beat printing on cd/dvds. not through experience, but through pictures.

and now the price has FINALLY gone down, the 8800GT is A MUCH better choice than the HD3870.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16814130318

Not bad indeed, you did your homework.

But, I would start, like clidx also stated, with the onboard sound.

Why do you want to have the DVD reader by the way? Just to copy a DVD-/+R directly? You will be better of using just the DVD-RW and make the image on your hard drive.