2 xml file locations - why ?

Hi All,

I'm new to all this, we have moved away from SMS & RIS and I am currently looking at replacing SMS with WDS. I have setup a test wds server, built a pc with our apps, sysprep'd it and captured it, uploaded to wds server and I can successfully deploy the captured os to new pc's.

Unfortunately it is not all automated and I need a point in the right direction in relation to my xml files if anyone could help ?

There seems to be 2 locations as to where you can put the xml file.

1 location is on the properties tab of the server itself under " the client tab "

another location is on the image itself.

Can someone tell me why there are two locations for an unattended file. I am assuming the one on the server properties under the client tab supersedes the image one and should contain info like input locate and where to install the os , partition etc.. - I'm really not sure here.

When I deploy my image I am asked the below questions which I should be able to automate with an xml file ?

Can anyone tell me the cut off point below as to where I create 1 xml file for the server for all image installs and where I start creating the 2nd one specific to the image ?

below question I am asked when deploying - how can I automate this and where do I put the xml file as there are 2 locations for unnattended.xml files.

===================

Set Up Windows

Country or Region - Ireland

Time & Currency - English ( Ireland )

Keyboard Layout - Irish

Next

Type a user name - Admon

Type a computer name - want to be asked this

Next

Type a password

retype your password

password hint

Next

Read the License Terms

Have to select checkbox - I agree to terms & Conditions

Next

Help Protect your computer & improve windows automatically

use recommended settings

Next

Review your time & date settings

Select your current location

Work

Windows is finalizing your settings

Thanks PPL