Hosed again by setup with "The data is invalid"

UberGeek451

I thought I'd post here since this seems to be an unusual error that seemed to be resolved a while back.

I'm creating an updated Win2k SP5 installation using using Kurt's posting "Up-to-date Windows 2000 install media creation guide".

Although I have been using Unattend installs for several years I decided to give nLite a try. After spending three long evenings trying to get this procedure to work, every time I run my commands the setup fails with the error "Setup was unable to build the list of files to be copied. The data is invalid"

Google points to a few obscure postings of earlier releases along with suggestions to change the command parameters which I have done with no success. Another tip was to switch to the same OS, but this didn't work either.

Before I blow another night on this perhaps some of you might point me in the right direction. Here are the basics:

a.) As I regressed back to a simple slipstream, the installation succeeded and began dumping files as expected.

b.) No other variations of nLite seen to work, although I'm continuing to test.

c.)It is necessary to run the unattend command since I'm running multiboot setups on several machines and MUST point Windows to the selected partition or wage another battle. I also prefer to run this from a HDD flat file, not a CD/DVD install.

d.) I've checked the WINNT.SIF for errors and see none EXCEPT FOR the line:

[GuiRunOnce]

"%SystemRoot%\System32\nLite.cmd"

Although nLite.cmd can not be found, deleting the entry in WINNT.SIF makes no difference either.

Win2K command sequences are variations of the following:

G:\WIN2K_SP4CD\I386\winnt32.exe /unattend:G:\WIN2K_SP4CD\I386\Winnt.sif /syspart:O: /tempdrive:O:

I'm pulling my hair out trying to figure why this always fails and questioning my sanity for wasting so much time to coax a simple installation sequence that was much easier the old fashioned way.