Installing Win 7 on new HDD

mn2az87

I'm having problems installing Win7 onto a new 160 Gig HDD, it just doesn't seem to want to install and I've let it run and then after 4 hours got the fatal error screen (blue). (I've used this dvd before on the 40 Gb HDD that I'm replacing and it installed in less than 1 hour). This is my first time using a larger HDD that includes having the OS on it (past 40 Gb) so I don't know if I need to do anything other than set my partition sizes, format and then let the disk do its thing. I was able to install XP on this drive with no problems at all using this method so I don't know why it doesn't seem to want to install 7. Any suggestions???

Sorry I didn't write it down and since I know that it shouldn't take 4 hrs to install, the times that I've tried to install it again after 2 hours I've just stopped the install. I've tried RC1 7100, 7077 and 7068 and they all reacted the same so I've just figure that I've done something wrong until I tried XP.

If your hard drive controller needs mass storage drivers (XP F6 drivers), then I would suspect that the drivers are not compatible with Windows 7. Besides that, I cant see any reason why W7 would have a fit with just a plain old hard drive/controller.

The HDD is a Samsung 160 Gb 5400RPM 8MB 2.5 IDE notebook hard drive and Compaq Presario 900 laptop. As far as the drivers you mentioned I have NO idea about.... I didn't have to do anything different form the past (partition, format, install) and it installed in 1 hr if that helps answer that ?. I've also tried a copy of vista and that just completely froze solid before you get to the install screen. At least 7 reacts. I just don't see any reason for a problem. If it had something to do with the controller I should of had a problem with XP also right? or am I wrong on that.

Correct. That's why I asked if you had to load those kinds of drivers. Don't know what it could be then. Maybe update your bios? Just clutching at straws here.