Abit AN8-Ultra Raid Problem

ThunderKinde

Hello,

New to the forums; but not to installing windows, so bear with me

Right, made a massive order Ive been saving up for for about 6 months, the following might help in resolving any conflicts that can spring to any people's minds:

Arctic Cooling Silentium T1 (SHHH, im trying to listen to my computer!)

Abit AN8-Ultra

Palit GeForce 6600 GT 128Mb

2*SATA 8Mb 120GB Maxtor SATA

1*NEC DVD-+RW

1Gb Geil Value Dual Channel kit

^ That was the origional spec, added and changed as ive needed to, just to install windows.

Anyway, I put it all together, turn it on, just to check its actually running. Without any HDDs or Graphics cards in the case with its custom PSU is whisper quiet.

Build the RAID array as RAID-0, grab my customized installation disk for WinXP. Only to get to the partitioning stage, when windows has a fit, basically along the lines of "You aint got no HDDs in this, how were you expecting to install?!". I go doh! Run down PC World to grab a FDD, as I did away with floppy drives when I got my NF7-S machine.

Anyway, come back, hit F6 in the right place, no problem at all, select the two that I would be using nVIDIA ATA Bus Controler, and nVIDIA RAID Controller, both for windows XP. Alls good, until it tries to copy the .sys files from the floppy disk within the DOS copy section of the install. Then it throws a fit, "Setup cannot find NVRAID.SYS blah, blah". I checks that the disk is still in the drive, it is, hit enter, drive light comes on. I go to make a cup of coffee. Come back to the machine to find that its at the "please insert disk" screen.

I grab a floppy, format it in dos with the debug option to find if the new one has got any bad sectors on it, none. Copy the files across in thier specific order. Go back to my new machine again, hit enter. Does this again.