HELP w/Adaptec SATA/RAID 1210SA

masda

I'm very new to this. I have an Adaptec SATA-RAID 1210SA card with a WD Raptor Drive that I would like to install Windows and eventually SuSE on. So, I cannot get a floppy drive to work on my machine, so I have gone the route of slipstreaming drivers into the install. I have read the tutorials on it and tried to adapt it to my specific drivers, but still cannot get it to work.

When setup starts in text mode it loads the drivers fine, but when it says it is starting windows, it just freezes up. It just stops. I have tried on VirtualPC and it went through the whole installation just fine.

I would appreciate any suggestions or help. I was really excited about this, and have spent too many days trying to get this to work.

Thank You.

First of all: of course it went just fine in VPC (or even in VMWare, doesn't matter), because it EMULATES SOME hardware NOT YOUR hardware!

Maybe you would care to tell us how you're installing (from CD, from network, using RIS, using winnt.exe/winnt32.exe) AND what modifications you made to your txtsetup.sif and dosnet.inf?

I'm sorry I didnt give enough information. I guess I was hoping some one had already done the same thing with this card. I understand VirtualPC doenst emulate my hardware.

Alright. First I am installing Windows XP Professional SP 2 from CD. I am trying to modify the TXTSETUP.SIF in the i386 directory, as well as the WINNT.SIF.

Here is the list of my drivers:

WIN2000\AAR1210.CAT

WIN2000\AAR1210.SYS

WIN2000\ADHRAID.CAT

WIN2000\ADHRAID.INF

WIN2000\OEMSETUP.INF

WIN2000\TRANS.TBL

HRAIDSK1

TRANS.TBL

TXTSETUP.OEM

I put the in directory: $OEM$\$1\DRIVERS\RAID\AAR1210

while also taking out the ones in the WIN2000 directory and putting them in this directory as well. Its redundancy put I'm unsure how it works.

I put the AAR1210.SYS file into the \i386\ directory.

Here are my entries in TXTSETUP.SIF:

[HardwareIdsDatabase]
PCI\VEN_1095&DEV_0240 = "aar1210"