Program to monitor router traffic?

Hi.

I'm fairly new to working with router, and the such. I was wondering if anyone could make me a recommendation for monitoring my router traffic?

I'm trying to determine whether someone has been leaching off my internet. I was hoping it would be possible to use a program (GUI enabled if possible) to see all devices connected to the router, and maybe even identity them.

I'm fairly new to working with router, and the such. I was wondering if anyone could make me a recommendation for monitoring my router traffic?

I'm trying to determine whether someone has been leaching off my internet. I was hoping it would be possible to use a program (GUI enabled if possible) to see all devices connected to the router, and maybe even identity them.

Since you are new to this I'll give you the cliff notes. Assuming you have a typical router with ethernet ports on it as well as wireless transmitting and receiving. Specific terminology varies from router to router, the details below are pretty much using Cisco Linksys verbiage ...

- Grab yourself an ethernet cable and connect your computer using this cable to one of the router's outputs (note that there is also one input already connected to your Cable or DSL or FIOS or whatever modem).

- Find the Instructions that came with your router and look for the mention of the URL you need to type in to your web browser in order to access the router's configuration. It should look something like this: 192.168.1.1

- Once you are browsing the router config pages you will likely need the default password (also in your manual). And, you really should change this to something else (save the changes and write it down).

To secure your router there are two main ways, I always suggest doing both but at least do the first one ...