Jump to content

mbouchard

Member
  • Posts

    162
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Donations

    0.00 USD 
  • Country

    United States

Posts posted by mbouchard

  1. Thanks for the response, I think I have it working. I recreated my answer file and while doing that I found the debugjoin setting. I set that in my unattend.xml file in the image and tried imaging the PC again. When I looked in the setuperr.log file, found in c:\Windows\panther\unattendGC I found the following

    [DJOIN.EXE] Unattended Join: NetJoinDomain failed error code is [1355]

    [DJOIN.EXE] Unattended Join: DsGetDcName test failed: 0x54b, last error is 0x0, breaking if debugger attached...

    [DJOIN.EXE] Unattended Join: Unable to join; gdwError = 0x54b

    Did a search on DSGetDcName test failed and found mention of using the FQDN, reimaged my test machine, added the FQDN and the PC was added to the domain. Looks like that corrected my issue. Not sure why the 64bit image requires the FQDN for the unattended setup while the 32bit image doesn't.

  2. I am currently working on 2 Windows 7 Enterprise images and am having an issue adding the PC to the domain on the 64bit image.

    The sysprep file contains marker files for certain info that I will replace in the unattend.xml file while in WinPE after applying the image. But for whatever reason, at the end of the setup, the x64 setup is not adding to the domain while the x86 setup is.

    Snippets from the original Sysprep file

            <component name="Microsoft-Windows-Shell-Setup" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
    <CopyProfile>true</CopyProfile>
    <TimeZone>Eastern Standard Time</TimeZone>
    <ShowWindowsLive>false</ShowWindowsLive>
    <ComputerName>REPLACEME</ComputerName>
    </component>
    <component name="Microsoft-Windows-UnattendedJoin" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
    <Identification>
    <Credentials>
    <Domain>THEDOMAIN</Domain>
    <Password>THEPASSWORD</Password>
    <Username>THEUSERNAME</Username>
    </Credentials>
    <JoinDomain>THEJOINDOMAIN</JoinDomain>
    </Identification>
    </component>

    Looking at the setupact log file in the panther folder, I find where djoin.exe is being called but am getting a different return code for each setup.

    x64

    [setup.exe] [Action Queue] : Command Line = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\DJOIN.EXE / arguments =  / pass = specialize / manifest path = C:\Windows\Winsxs\Manifests\amd64_microsoft-windows-unattendedjoin_31bf3856ad364e35_6.1.7600.16385_none_0f09d6468685a4d3.manifest
    [setup.exe] [Action Queue] : Command Line = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\SETUPUGC.EXE / arguments = / pass = specialize / manifest path = C:\Windows\Winsxs\Manifests\amd64_microsoft-windows-deployment_31bf3856ad364e35_6.1.7600.16385_none_57e3e87206ff08ca.manifest
    [setup.exe] [Action Queue] : Executing command "C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\RUNDLL32.EXE" shsetup.dll,SHUnattendedSetup specialize
    [setup.exe] [Action Queue] : process exit code = 1
    [setup.exe] [Action Queue] : Unattend action requested delayed reboot.
    [setup.exe] [Action Queue] : Executing command "C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\DJOIN.EXE" specialize
    [setup.exe] [Action Queue] : process exit code = 0
    [setup.exe] [Action Queue] : Unattend action returned operation complete.
    [setup.exe] [Action Queue] : Executing command "C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\SETUPUGC.EXE" specialize
    [setup.exe] [Action Queue] : process exit code = 0
    [setup.exe] [Action Queue] : Unattend action returned operation complete.
    [setup.exe] [Action Queue] : ProcessActionQueue finish (hr = 0x1f1000)
    [setup.exe] One or more unattend GCs requested a delayed reboot; we will reboot the computer

    x86

    [setup.exe] [Action Queue] : Command Line = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\DJOIN.EXE / arguments =  / pass = specialize / manifest path = C:\Windows\Winsxs\Manifests\x86_microsoft-windows-unattendedjoin_31bf3856ad364e35_6.1.7600.16385_none_b2eb3ac2ce28339d.manifest
    [setup.exe] [Action Queue] : Command Line = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\SETUPUGC.EXE / arguments = / pass = specialize / manifest path = C:\Windows\Winsxs\Manifests\x86_microsoft-windows-deployment_31bf3856ad364e35_6.1.7600.16385_none_fbc54cee4ea19794.manifest
    [setup.exe] [Action Queue] : Executing command "C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\RUNDLL32.EXE" shsetup.dll,SHUnattendedSetup specialize
    [setup.exe] [Action Queue] : process exit code = 1
    [setup.exe] [Action Queue] : Unattend action requested delayed reboot.
    [setup.exe] [Action Queue] : Executing command "C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\DJOIN.EXE" specialize
    [setup.exe] [Action Queue] : process exit code = 1
    [setup.exe] [Action Queue] : Unattend action requested delayed reboot.
    [setup.exe] [Action Queue] : Executing command "C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\SETUPUGC.EXE" specialize
    [setup.exe] [Action Queue] : process exit code = 0
    [setup.exe] [Action Queue] : Unattend action returned operation complete.
    [setup.exe] [Action Queue] : ProcessActionQueue finish (hr = 0x1f1000)
    [setup.exe] One or more unattend GCs requested a delayed reboot; we will reboot the computer

    I did some searching and was unable to find info on the djoin return codes so am not certain why they are different outside of one worked while the other didn't.

    I know that the username/password that I am using in the unattend.xml file is correct as I can use them to add the PC to the domain manually.

    Any thoughts on what I am missing?

  3. Welp, Microsoft gave me a script to determine if Drive C is on Disk 0.

      
    Option Explicit
    Dim sDrive


    Dim iDisk : iDisk = 0'Disk 0
    Dim iPart : iPart = 0'Partition 0

    sDrive = lookForC(iDisk, iPart)

    WScript.Echo "Drive" & iDisk & "/Partition" & iPart & " is mapped to drive " & sDrive

    function lookForC(Disk, Part)
    Dim sWQL, objWMIService, Partitions, oPartition, colDrives, oDrive
    lookForC = "<none>"
    sWQL = "SELECT * FROM Win32_DiskPartition where " & _
    "DiskIndex=" & Disk & " and " & _
    "Index=" & Part
    Set objWMIService = GetObject("winmgmts:{impersonationLevel=impersonate}!\\.\root\cimv2")
    Set Partitions = objWMIService.ExecQuery(sWQL)
    For Each oPartition In Partitions
    Set colDrives = objWMIService.ExecQuery _
    ("ASSOCIATORS OF {Win32_DiskPartition.DeviceID=""" & _
    oPartition.DeviceID & """} WHERE AssocClass = " & _
    "Win32_LogicalDiskToPartition")
    For Each oDrive In colDrives
    lookForC = oDrive.DeviceID
    Next
    Next
    end function

  4. I just thought I would update this with a reason on why this is happening on WinPE. Per Microsoft:

    -Windows does not assure disk order. When booting to an Installed OS, we maintain the order through symbios.sys. This assures that the OS drive will always be first.

    -in WinPe, we list the disk in the order it is presented from the BIOS.

    Not sure why this only happens on WinPE 2.1 and not 1.6. They are researching a way to script this so will post that if I ever get it.

  5. Thank you for the reply. Any suggestions on the best way to programatically get the correct drive 0? So far the only thing I have seen that gives me the correct drive0 is WMI.

    This will give me the correct info. But, I need to find out how to compare what I get in Diskpart to what I get in the script to make sure that I am unmounting the correct drive.

    Additionally, once I used Mountvol to unmount the wrong Drive0 I get bluescreens. not sure what it is yet but I am trying to track that one down. Luckily this is a test system. While this may be a workaround it doesn't address he underlying issue of the wrong drive being reported as being Drive0.

    On Error Resume Next
    strComputer = "."
    Set objWMIService = GetObject("winmgmts:\\" & strComputer & "\root\cimv2")
    Set colItems = objWMIService.ExecQuery("Select * from Win32_DiskPartition",,48)
    For Each objItem in colItems
    Wscript.Echo "Bootable: " & objItem.Bootable
    Wscript.Echo "BootPartition: " & objItem.BootPartition
    Wscript.Echo "DeviceID: " & objItem.DeviceID
    Wscript.Echo "DiskIndex: " & objItem.DiskIndex
    Wscript.Echo "Index: " & objItem.Index
    Wscript.Echo "Name: " & objItem.Name
    Wscript.Echo "PrimaryPartition: " & objItem.PrimaryPartition
    Wscript.Echo "Size: " & ConvertSize(objItem.Size)
    Next

  6. Recently we have started seeing an issue on Systems (Dell Optiplex and Precision) that have the Intel Matrix Storage Manager HD Controller installed. Basically, the drives are swapped in PE from what they should be.

    In the Bios, Vista, XP, and WinPE 1.6

    Drive0 = WD 250GB C:\

    Drive1 = ST 80GB D:\

    In WinPE 2.1

    Drive0 = ST 80GB C:\

    Drive1 = WD 250GB D:\

    Not sure why the drives are getting swapped. When this happens, my Windows setup attempts to install the OS to the 80GB drive. When the PC reboots after the PE portion is completed, it hangs as the 250GB drive is drive 0 once again.

    If I disconnect the 80GB drive then there are no issues as the 250GB drive is once again Drive 0

    I have tried changing the SATA operation in the BIOS but none have worked. The default is Raid Autodetect / ACHI.

    Anyone have any ideas what I could try?

    Thanks.

  7. I am working on a Vista Enterprise image for work and am trying to work the process into our current build process and am having issues with getting drivers loaded.

    I would rather not inject drivers as I do not want to make the image any larger. I have tried to add the PnPCustomizations component to a couple places but nothing seems to work.

    Here is what I have in my Sysprep.xml

    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
    <unattend xmlns="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:unattend">
    <settings pass="generalize">
    <component name="Microsoft-Windows-Security-Licensing-SLC" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
    <SkipRearm>1</SkipRearm>
    </component>
    </settings>
    <settings pass="specialize">
    <component name="Microsoft-Windows-Deployment" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
    <RunSynchronous>
    <RunSynchronousCommand wcm:action="add">
    <Path>net user administrator /active:yes</Path>
    <Order>2</Order>
    <Description>make sure admin is enabled</Description>
    </RunSynchronousCommand>
    <RunSynchronousCommand wcm:action="add">
    <Path>reg add "HKLM\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\NetworkList\Signatures\FirstNetwork" /v Category /t REG_DWORD /d 00000001 /f</Path>
    <WillReboot>OnRequest</WillReboot>
    <Description>Set Network Location</Description>
    <Order>1</Order>
    </RunSynchronousCommand>
    </RunSynchronous>
    </component>
    <component name="Microsoft-Windows-Security-Licensing-SLC-UX" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
    <SkipAutoActivation>true</SkipAutoActivation>
    </component>
    <component name="Microsoft-Windows-Shell-Setup" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
    <Display>
    <ColorDepth>32</ColorDepth>
    <DPI>96</DPI>
    <HorizontalResolution>1024</HorizontalResolution>
    <VerticalResolution>768</VerticalResolution>
    </Display>
    <ProductKey>xxxx-xxxxx-xxxxx-xxxxx-xxxxx</ProductKey>
    <ShowWindowsLive>false</ShowWindowsLive>
    <TimeZone>Eastern Standard Time</TimeZone>
    <ComputerName>REPLACEME</ComputerName>
    <CopyProfile>true</CopyProfile>
    </component>
    <component name="Microsoft-Windows-UnattendedJoin" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
    <Identification>
    <Credentials>
    <Domain>THEDOMAIN</Domain>
    <Password>THEPASSWORD</Password>
    <Username>THEUSERNAME</Username>
    </Credentials>
    <JoinDomain>THEJOINDOMAIN</JoinDomain>
    </Identification>
    </component>
    </settings>
    <settings pass="oobeSystem">
    <component name="Microsoft-Windows-International-Core" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
    <InputLocale>en-us</InputLocale>
    <SystemLocale>en-us</SystemLocale>
    <UILanguage>en-us</UILanguage>
    <UserLocale>en-us</UserLocale>
    </component>
    <component name="Microsoft-Windows-Shell-Setup" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
    <AutoLogon>
    <Password>
    <Value>bQBpAGMAcgBvAHMAbbwBmAsHQAUABhAHMAcwB3AG8aAcgBkAA==</Value>
    <PlainText>false</PlainText>
    </Password>
    <Enabled>true</Enabled>
    <LogonCount>2</LogonCount>
    <Username>tempadmin</Username>
    </AutoLogon>
    <OOBE>
    <HideEULAPage>true</HideEULAPage>
    <NetworkLocation>Work</NetworkLocation>
    <ProtectYourPC>3</ProtectYourPC>
    <SkipUserOOBE>true</SkipUserOOBE>
    </OOBE>
    <UserAccounts>
    <AdministratorPassword>
    <Value>bQBpAGMAcgBvAHxMAbwBmAHQgAQQBkAG0AaQBuAGkAcwB0hAHIAYQB0AG8AcgBQAGEAcwBzAHcAbwaByAGQA</Value>
    <PlainText>false</PlainText>
    </AdministratorPassword>
    <LocalAccounts>
    <LocalAccount wcm:action="add">
    <Password>
    <PlainText>false</PlainText>
    <Value>bQBpAGMAcgBvAHMfAbwBmAHQAUABhAHdMAcwB3AGs8AcgBkAA==</Value>
    </Password>
    <Name>TempAdmin</Name>
    <DisplayName>TempAdmin</DisplayName>
    <Group>administrators</Group>
    </LocalAccount>
    </LocalAccounts>
    </UserAccounts>
    <RegisteredOrganization>ORIG</RegisteredOrganization>
    <RegisteredOwner>Something</RegisteredOwner>
    <FirstLogonCommands>
    <SynchronousCommand wcm:action="add">
    <CommandLine>REG ADD "HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\System" /V ConsentPromptBehaviorAdmin /t REG_DWORD /d 0 /f</CommandLine>
    <Order>1</Order>
    <Description>Set UAC 1</Description>
    </SynchronousCommand>
    <SynchronousCommand wcm:action="add">
    <Order>4</Order>
    <CommandLine>REG ADD "HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Runonce" /V Installmyexe /D "c:\nt\custom\continuepe.exe" /f</CommandLine>
    <Description>Launch Script</Description>
    </SynchronousCommand>
    <SynchronousCommand wcm:action="add">
    <CommandLine>REG ADD "HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\System" /V ConsentPromptBehaviorUser /t REG_DWORD /d 0 /f</CommandLine>
    <Description>Set UAC 2</Description>
    <Order>2</Order>
    </SynchronousCommand>
    <SynchronousCommand wcm:action="add">
    <CommandLine>REG ADD "HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\System" /V EnableLUA /t REG_DWORD /d 1 /f</CommandLine>
    <Description>Set UAC 3</Description>
    <Order>3</Order>
    </SynchronousCommand>
    </FirstLogonCommands>
    </component>
    </settings>
    <settings pass="windowsPE">
    <component name="Microsoft-Windows-PnpCustomizationsWinPE" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
    <DriverPaths>
    <PathAndCredentials wcm:action="add" wcm:keyValue="Network">
    <Path>c:\nt\drivers\network\winVista</Path>
    </PathAndCredentials>
    <PathAndCredentials wcm:action="add" wcm:keyValue="Audio">
    <Path>c:\nt\drivers\audio\wdm</Path>
    </PathAndCredentials>
    <PathAndCredentials wcm:action="add" wcm:keyValue="Digitizer">
    <Path>c:\nt\drivers\Digitizer</Path>
    </PathAndCredentials>
    <PathAndCredentials wcm:action="add" wcm:keyValue="">
    <Path>c:\nt\drivers\wireless\DRIVER</Path>
    </PathAndCredentials>
    <PathAndCredentials wcm:action="add" wcm:keyValue="FingerPrint">
    <Path>c:\nt\drivers\FingerprintReader\x86.vista</Path>
    </PathAndCredentials>
    </DriverPaths>
    </component>
    </settings>
    <cpi:offlineImage cpi:source="wim:d:/vistainstall/sp1wim/install.wim#Windows Vista BUSINESS" xmlns:cpi="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:cpi" />
    </unattend>

    In my current process I am using WinPE to copy down the i386 folder to the PC and based on some input from the tech I copy down the appropriate drivers folder. The folder structure for the drivers is the same i.e. \network\ \audio\ etc with the needed files in the root of the folder. This way I can setup pretty much any system and as long as the source folders for the drivers are setup the same way it works.

    I was trying to do something similar with my vista build but will be using an image instead of doing everything from scratch I am using an image. The whole process has been successful in everything but the drivers. I know I am missing something just not sure what it is yet. Am I putting the drivers in the wrong pass? I have tried the Audit pass but after reading a bit more realized that using /oobe would not work with audit.

    sysprep command: sysprep.exe /generalize /oobe /shutdown /unattend:sysprep.xml

    Thanks in advance for any assistance.

  8. I am working on setting up a Kiosk and just about the only thing that will be running is Outlook. We are deleting the local profile on logoff/reboot so the Office first run is running the first time Outlook is launched after a reboot. I am trying to prevent the username/userinitial prompt on firstrun. I have tried adding the regkeys in the login script but this hasn't worked. Any ideas on how to either prevent the prompt or run it silently?

  9. WinPE 2.x has NIC/TCP timing issues. I set a sleep and ping command after wpeinit is called in the startnet.cmd file

    wpeinit
    @ECHO OFF
    sleep 8
    ping -n 5 SOMESERVER

    You'll need to add the sleep.exe file to your build.

    I take it the 8 is seconds, if so will up what I had already tried, a 2 second sleep in a script that is called from startnet.cmd.

    I know that nonSP1 did not have the Intel NIC driver for these devices (PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_10BD) and SP1 added support since the first sp1 beta of the waik. I have had 0 issues with these models gettting IP on the first try.

    I had issues with getting the NIC added to Vista gold, but that was probably a user issue on my part. Rebuilt PE with Sp1 and was able to get connected with a delay though.

    Have no issues with one of my other test PC's, just the 755.

    Thanks again, will try the longer sleep.

  10. I have a strange issue, I have a newly built PE 2.0 built with Vista Sp1 and when PE finishes loading I do not have an IP address, I only get the AutoConfig Ip (169.254.etc) I do an Ipconfig /renew and it will get an IP.

    Any ideas?

    Nic = Intel 825xx Gigabit Platform LAN Network Device

  11. We are in a pilot phase of our office 2007 deployment and had an issue where a shortcut was not being created on the start menu nor in quick launch. I have made adjustments to the source MSP but am trying to figure out how to update an existing install without uninstalling / reinstalling.

    Is there anyway to run the setup so it will add my changes? If not, is there a way to create a Windows Installer Shortcut to Outlook?

  12. I am currently working on a deployment of Office 2007 and during testing I was finding that at times I would have default RSS feeds (Microsoft At Home / Work) installed. This would get pretty annoying. After trying to figure out why I was getting these feeds in outlook I came down that the culprit is IE7. I have used IEAK to create a Branded install of IE7 and made sure to delete the default RSS feeds on Favorites, Links and Feeds page in Stage 4 but nothing I do will stop from having these default feeds appear. I can delete them from individual user profiles but have not found a way to prevent the feeds from being added to new users.

    Does anyone have any idea what I am doing wrong? Luckily we have not deployed IE7 as of yet but that is coming soon after the new year.

    Thanks.

  13. Just recently I started working on a Vista build for work and am having a little trouble getting the initial boot after a sysprep to be automated. Basically I am getting prompted to create a user and I am not sure what I am missing. I have tried several things including setting SkipMachineOOBE (found that this didn't apply any of the OOBE stuff) and creating a user in my unattend file. I have tried to use the sticky guide and follow things found here with no luck.

    Here is my unattend file

    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
    <unattend xmlns="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:unattend">
    <settings pass="generalize">
    <component name="Microsoft-Windows-Security-Licensing-SLC" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
    <SkipRearm>1</SkipRearm>
    </component>
    </settings>
    <settings pass="specialize">
    <component name="Microsoft-Windows-Deployment" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
    <RunSynchronous>
    <RunSynchronousCommand wcm:action="add">
    <Credentials>
    <Domain>MYDOMAIN</Domain>
    <Password>MYPASSWORD</Password>
    <Username>MYUSERNAME</Username>
    </Credentials>
    <Path>net user administrator /active:yes</Path>
    <Order>1</Order>
    </RunSynchronousCommand>
    </RunSynchronous>
    </component>
    <component name="Microsoft-Windows-Security-Licensing-SLC-UX" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
    <SkipAutoActivation>true</SkipAutoActivation>
    </component>
    <component name="Microsoft-Windows-Shell-Setup" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
    <Display>
    <ColorDepth>32</ColorDepth>
    <DPI>96</DPI>
    <HorizontalResolution>1024</HorizontalResolution>
    <VerticalResolution>768</VerticalResolution>
    </Display>
    <ProductKey>MYPRODUCTKEY</ProductKey>
    <ShowWindowsLive>false</ShowWindowsLive>
    <TimeZone>Eastern Standard Time</TimeZone>
    <ComputerName>REPLACEME</ComputerName>
    </component>
    <component name="Microsoft-Windows-UnattendedJoin" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
    <Identification>
    <Credentials>
    <Domain>MYDOMAIN</Domain>
    <Password>MYPASSWORD</Password>
    <Username>MYUSERNAME</Username>
    </Credentials>
    <JoinDomain>MYDOMAIN</JoinDomain>
    </Identification>
    </component>
    </settings>
    <settings pass="oobeSystem">
    <component name="Microsoft-Windows-International-Core" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
    <InputLocale>en-us</InputLocale>
    <SystemLocale>en-us</SystemLocale>
    <UILanguage>en-us</UILanguage>
    <UserLocale>en-us</UserLocale>
    </component>
    <component name="Microsoft-Windows-Shell-Setup" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
    <AutoLogon>
    <Password>
    <Value>bQBpAGMAcgBBvAHMAbwBmSAHQAUABSB3AG8AcgBkAA==</Value>
    <PlainText>false</PlainText>
    </Password>
    <Enabled>true</Enabled>
    <LogonCount>2</LogonCount>
    <Username>administrator</Username>
    </AutoLogon>
    <OOBE>
    <HideEULAPage>true</HideEULAPage>
    <NetworkLocation>Work</NetworkLocation>
    <ProtectYourPC>3</ProtectYourPC>
    <SkipUserOOBE>true</SkipUserOOBE>
    </OOBE>
    <UserAccounts>
    <AdministratorPassword>
    <Value>bQBpAGMAcgBBvAHMAbwBmSAHQAUABSB3AG8AcgBkAA</Value>
    <PlainText>false</PlainText>
    </AdministratorPassword>
    <LocalAccounts>
    <LocalAccount wcm:action="add">
    <Password>
    <Value>bQBpAGMAcgBBvAHMAbwBmSAHQAUABSB3AG8AcgBkAA==</Value>
    <PlainText>false</PlainText>
    </Password>
    <Name>testuser</Name>
    </LocalAccount>
    </LocalAccounts>
    </UserAccounts>
    <RegisteredOrganization>MYORG</RegisteredOrganization>
    <RegisteredOwner>MYOWNER</RegisteredOwner>
    <FirstLogonCommands>
    <SynchronousCommand wcm:action="add">
    <CommandLine>net user testuser /delete</CommandLine>
    <Order>1</Order>
    </SynchronousCommand>
    </FirstLogonCommands>
    <Themes>
    <CustomDefaultThemeFile>c:\windows\aero.theme</CustomDefaultThemeFile>
    </Themes>
    </component>
    </settings>
    <cpi:offlineImage cpi:source="wim:d:/vistainstall/sources/install.wim#Windows Vista ENTERPRISE" xmlns:cpi="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:cpi" />
    </unattend>

  14. Thanks for the reply, But I am not certain what drivers are needed. I am looking for them atm but have had no luck finding what is used. I would have thought they would have had these drivers included as they are generic drivers that are in XP/Vista by default.

  15. I have just gotten into working with PE 2.0 and was trying to get it working in Virtual Server 2005 R2 and can not get networking working. It seems that the NIC driver is not being loaded but I could be wrong.

    Has anyone else gotten WinPE 2.0 to work in Virtual Server? Am I missing something?

    Thanks,

    Mike

  16. I am currently trying to add the Tablet PC 2005 setup to my WinPE os setup process (WinXP/2000 work fine). When I use PE to launch the setup it appears that among other issues (WMI not working), tablet apps are not installed, so the Pen doesn't work. I am using the same Product Key that I used to install TabletPC manually using the original media. I believe that I have the folder structure setup correctly:

    c:\folder\i386

    c:\folder\cmpnents

    I know it is something that I am doing wrong but can't seem to figure it out. Does anyone point me in the right direction for info on installing TabletPC via winPE?

    Thanks,

    Mike

  17. Within our unattended setup we are applying several different adm's to a system and I have finally talked my boss into reviewing what settings we are changing, I didn't set these up originally, and I was wondering if there was a good (fairly easy) way to report on what settings there are and what is and isn't configured, along with the description of the setting?

    Thanks,

    Mike

  18. mbouchard,

    So based on your link to MS, MSOCache won't from the AI only from the compressed CD. But I would like you to make a few things clearer for me. From what you have found, should I just replace the setup on the CD with the Entsetup and then create the MST? And how do we slipstream the SP and patches to the compressed CD?

    Datesys, I wasn't the one that setup our install so will only be of little help in this, but will try and help as much as I can.

    As to the SP, when a new one comes out, we either use the MS CD containing Office with the SP included or just add it to our script. The same thing goes for the Patches. We don't slipstream, jut install them after office was installed. I am not sure about the ENTSetup as we just use the SetupPro exe that was on the CD.

    Hope this helps.

×
×
  • Create New...