FrontPage: Corrupted Exension files (I think)

Greetings,

Thanks, DL, for inviting me to post here.

I have inherited a website in FrontPage, a program I knew nothing of. I've studied hours over the last few days and have learned much. In the process, though, I fear I may have made a grave mistake and don't know what to do about it.

After downloading the website, I noticed all the files were unmatched so I studied up on that. Then I matched them all (maybe should have just left them alone) except for four files. Maybe they are not SUPPOSED to match.

.cshrc, .login, .profile.

I've been trying to study about these but I still don't have a clear understanding of their relationship to the rest of the site. I know basic page maintenance, not this behind the scenes stuff.

But this is not what most concerns me. Rather, I know I did "something" to my .log file. It seemed like there was something wrong with it initially, but now I fear it was fine and I should have just left it alone. Alas, I didn't.

I do have a copy of the folder contents on my local drive. This is good, I know! I also have it still there on the remote. However, I did "something" to it so now I can't delete the contents inside the .logs file on the remote and I know I should be able to. (The file had grown quite large).

Further, I did something I REALLY know I shouldn't have done now. I was curious what would happen if I uploaded the same the .LOG file without the period. Now that file is on my remote as well and it will not allow me to delete it. Doesn't matter which route I take to delete it (right click, from the menu, etc), it absolutely will not allow me to.

I don't know if this is a real serious thing. I fear it is and I'm quite anxious about it. Thanks much for any insights. I'm willing to read any articles or study tutorials that would answer this if you can direct me.

Thanks so much. I really need to resolve this.

Gayle

Edited by Gayle A

Hi Gayle,