Skip to content
View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

MSFN

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

MDT BDD log file overwritten with every deployment

Featured Replies

Hi,

Is there a way to have the BDD log file copied to a new folder for each individual deployment? My problem is that when I deploy two computers at the same time the BDD log is updated with the deployment data of both deployments simultaneously which makes troubleshooting problems very difficult because the log file has deployment steps from each individual deployment. Or if I deploy at different times and forget to move the BDD file from the slshare folder the second deployment will always append data to the same BDD log file.

Is there a way to have a new folder with the computers name created with every deployment and have the BDD file for that deployment copied to the folder? Or do you have any other recommendations?

Thanks!

brian

Hi,

Is there a way to have the BDD log file copied to a new folder for each individual deployment? My problem is that when I deploy two computers at the same time the BDD log is updated with the deployment data of both deployments simultaneously which makes troubleshooting problems very difficult because the log file has deployment steps from each individual deployment. Or if I deploy at different times and forget to move the BDD file from the slshare folder the second deployment will always append data to the same BDD log file.

Is there a way to have a new folder with the computers name created with every deployment and have the BDD file for that deployment copied to the folder? Or do you have any other recommendations?

Thanks!

brian

I think this is what happening. In my custom settings I have the following settings:


SLShare=\\wdserver\wdlogs$
SLShareDynamicLogging=\\wdserver\wdlogs$

The SLShareDynamicLogging creates a BDD.log file at the SLShareDynamicLogging and is constantly being appended to when new installations are happening. When the installation of Windows 7 is done, the log files located on the computer will be copied to the SLShare to a folder which is named after the computer name. These files are transferred over to the server after you click 'OK' or 'Exit' the summary window. If you don't exit the window (for instance, just shut down the computer) then they will not be copied.

So in wdlogs$ I have a bunch of single folder (for instance computer-1ac3fe) which contain the BDD.log and smsts.log files.) and a single BDD.log file created by the SLShareDynamicLogging option.

I hope this helps.

Create an account or sign in to comment

Recently Browsing 0

  • No registered users viewing this page.

Account

Navigation

Configure browser push notifications

Chrome (Android)
  1. Tap the lock icon next to the address bar.
  2. Tap Permissions → Notifications.
  3. Adjust your preference.
Chrome (Desktop)
  1. Click the padlock icon in the address bar.
  2. Select Site settings.
  3. Find Notifications and adjust your preference.