Jump to content
Strawberry Orange Banana Lime Leaf Slate Sky Blueberry Grape Watermelon Chocolate Marble
Strawberry Orange Banana Lime Leaf Slate Sky Blueberry Grape Watermelon Chocolate Marble

MSFN is made available via donations, subscriptions and advertising revenue. The use of ad-blocking software hurts the site. Please disable ad-blocking software or set an exception for MSFN. Alternatively, register and become a site sponsor/subscriber and ads will be disabled automatically. 


Sign in to follow this  
Kio

Anyway to disable/modify or change that dialog?

Recommended Posts

I'm looking modify or disable this dialog. I'm searching for files/resources but I have not found anything. Any ideas?

 

Sin_t_tulo.jpg

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

What would you want it to do?  Overwrite the file quietly without a prompt?  Not overwrite the file?

 

Without knowing the answer to the above, I'll point out that there is an option in the Folder Options panel, View tab called "Hide folder merge conflicts" that causes Windows to handle file conflicts more automatically.

 

Only other thing I could think of...  I believe Classic Shell at one time could be configured to change the way Explorer dialogs like the one you showed to be more like older versions of Windows, but it doesn't work it for Windows 8 nor do I think they ever provided an option to overwrite without prompting.

 

-Noel

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As far as I know/remember Windows always asked the user before overwriting a file and personally I am happy for that. :huh:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The point of replacing that dialog is choice and productivity. If you don't want to be prompted, you won't be by PerigeeCopy. Although personally I would never want to overwrite without being prompted. And second issue is productivity. The way Windows 8/10 does it - you must click "Compare info" to see the actual details which are essential to make a decision and then check at least 2 checkboxes (or even more) and then click Continue. It is neither intuitive . Sure you can click "Replace all" in the new dialog but you don't see any details unless you click "Compare info".

 

The XP dialog which is similar to the one in PerigeeCopy, was superior because it had excellent mouse and keyboard usability and you saw all the details right upfront. All you had to do just 1 click thereafter - either Yes, Yes to All, No, or No to All.

Edited by xpclient
  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

×
×
  • Create New...