Reading packets...

So interesting thing..... I was wiresharking my network to try to capture some particular data when I noticed something very strange...

There's UDP broadcasts coming from only one laptop, I know this because of the 255.255.255.255 destination used, however I'm very new to the networking world and to Wireshark.

So.. the source is always the same, which is the IP address of the laptop (Which happens to be our COO's, lol), except the port changes, whatever's happening it seems to increment the port by 1 on each broadcast. In the "info" section of wireshark, the destination port is always the same, 34447. The source port however, changes to wierd things like "myblast", "minilock", "ibm-mgr", etc.

I remotely connected to his registry and checked some very basic general stuff, and checked his system32 folder for any newly modified or obviously bogus files. Came up with nada.

Is this traffic normal? His laptop is the only one doing it. How can I get to the root of this?

Those Broadcasts will never leave your network, so your safe in that respect, however this is not normal behaviour. I would run a full virus scan, spyware scan and rootkit scan.

Starting with rootkit revealer since anything potentially malicious should have been picked up by your AV and shouldnt have made it as far as the NIC.

See what that comes up with and let us know

Cheers

Those Broadcasts will never leave your network, so your safe in that respect, however this is not normal behaviour. I would run a full virus scan, spyware scan and rootkit scan.

Starting with rootkit revealer since anything potentially malicious should have been picked up by your AV and shouldnt have made it as far as the NIC.

See what that comes up with and let us know

Cheers

Hmmmm, I'll have to get with the Sr. Sys Admin and figure out the best way about getting that done politely lol. I'll update what we find.